Wisconsin conservation heritage

U.S. Sen. Tammy Baldwin, D-Wis., scored a perfect 100 percent on the League of Conservation Voters' annual environmental scorecard. U.S. Sen. Ron Johnson, R-Wis., scored a zero.

Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters released the state congressional delegation’s scores on the League of Conservation Voters’ 2017 National Environmental Scorecard.

The scorecard is a yardstick for evaluating the environmental records of every member of Congress.

“As President (Donald) Trump launched attack after attack on longstanding environmental protections, Sen. Ron Johnson refused to stand up for Wisconsin’s air, water, land and wildlife,” stated Kerry Schumann, executive director of the state group. “Sen. Ron Johnson scored a goose egg — zero percent. Meanwhile, Sen. Tammy Baldwin voted 100 percent of the time to protect the environment.”

In the House, four members from Wisconsin earned 10 percent or less.

House Speaker Paul Ryan, who chose not to vote this session, has a lifetime score of 11 percent.

The scorecard measures votes cast during the first session of the 115th Congress.

“Instead of rubber stamping a polluter agenda, we need our representatives in Congress to fight for Wisconsin’s communities — and thankfully we can count on Senator Tammy Baldwin and Reps. Gwen Moore, Ron Kind and Mark Pocan to push back. We’re more determined than ever before to hold members of Congress accountable for putting polluters ahead of our families,” Schumann said in the press statement.

The average House score for Wisconsin was 42 percent and the average Senate score was 50 percent.

The full delegation’s scores for 2017 are:

Sen. Tammy Baldwin – 100 percent

Sen. Ron Johnson – 0 percent

Speaker Paul Ryan – 11 percent lifetime

Rep. Mark Pocan – 89 percent* (Pocan missed several votes due to emergency heart surgery. He entered a statement into the Congressional Record noting how he would have voted, and all votes would have been scored pro-environment.)

Rep. Ron Kind – 94 percent

Rep. Gwen Moore – 100 percent

Rep. Jim Sensenbrenner – 6 percent

Rep. Glenn Grothman – 0 percent

Rep. Sean Duffy – 0 percent

Rep. Mike Gallagher  – 3 percent

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd,racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming anotherperson will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyoneor anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ismthat is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link oneach comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitnessaccounts, the history behind an article.