Opinion

Wisconsin fights back against ‘Citizens United’

Written by Matthew Rothschild,
Special to WiG
Friday, 30 January 2015 05:26

Jan. 21 marked the fifth anniversary of Citizens United and Wisconsinites are fighting back against that awful U.S. Supreme Court decision as never before.

In the 5-4 decision, conservatives on the court ruled that corporations are persons and money is speech, and therefore corporations, unions and other associations can spend as much as they want on their candidates.

Illegal abortion: Back to the future?

Written by Jamakaya,
Columnist
Thursday, 15 January 2015 13:44

Forty-two years ago this month, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled 7-2 that most restrictions on abortion were unconstitutional. The reasonable compromise of Roe v. Wade has been under attack ever since. 

Time is overdue to repeal the Second Amendment

Written by Tom H. Hastings Sunday, 28 December 2014 07:32

What country fetishizes, lionizes, valorizes, idolizes, and sacralizes guns as much as does our United States? OK, possibly Mozambique — the only country with an AK47 on its flag, but really, it's long past time to end this obsessive "My Precious" attachment of Americans to instruments of death.

Flashback 2014: State’s GOP assails women’s health

Written by Tanya Atkinson,
Special to WiG
Friday, 12 December 2014 14:01

In Wisconsin, we have a long history of working together to ensure our friends, family and neighbors have access to essential health care, and we believe in a government that trusts people to make personal health decisions. But our elected leaders have embarked on a divergent path.

‘Right to work’ is a step backward for workers

Written by Jamakaya,
Columnist
Saturday, 31 January 2015 19:22

Republican politicians, their corporate patrons and their cheerleaders on hate radio are gearing up to push “right to work” legislation on Wisconsin.

Everyone deserves the right to work. Sounds pretty good, doesn’t it?

Milwaukee Jewish Federation denounces Paris attacks

Written by Milwaukee Jewish Federation Tuesday, 13 January 2015 07:57

We are outraged and filled with grief after the incidents of terrorism last week in Paris. We join with the people of France and the global Jewish community in loudly and clearly denouncing these attacks by radical Islamic terrorists and offer condolences and prayers for the 17 victims and their families. 

The horrific shooting at the offices of the satirical magazine, Charlie Hebdo, which left 12 people dead, was an attack on our basic democratic freedoms. On Friday, as many Jews prepared for the Sabbath, terrorists entered a kosher grocery store with the stated intent of "targeting Jews" and murdered four people. 

U.S. Rep. Moore seeks Justice review of Milwaukee police procedures

Written by U.S. Rep. Gwen Moore Wednesday, 24 December 2014 06:50

U.S. Rep. Gwen Moore, a Democrat representing Milwaukee, wrote recently to the U.S. Justice Department's civil rights division and asked the U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of Wisconsin to investigate Milwaukee police procedures.

The following is Moore's letter to James Santelle:

To progressives: Make 2015 the year of no regrets

Written by Scot Ross,
Special to WiG
Friday, 12 December 2014 09:24

Scot Ross. — PHOTO: Courtesy

With November’s elections failing to achieve a change in leadership, the year 2014 was disappointing for progressives. 

Ald. Tony Zielinski: Milwaukee streetcar is a luxury the city can’t afford

Written by Milwaukee Ald. Tony Zielinski Thursday, 29 January 2015 12:07

First and foremost, I am opposed to the streetcar because a majority of my constituents are opposed. No doubt, I have some vocal supporters but they are not the majority. 

My constituents are telling me their taxes are too high. Furthermore, we are in such apparent fiscal constraints that the police are being furloughed, the fire department are experiencing brown outs and we cannot even maintain our roads adequately. The potholes in particular are especially bothersome. 

Trans-Pacific Trade Agreement must be defeated

Written by U.S. Sen. Bernie Sanders Tuesday, 30 December 2014 19:11

The Trans-Pacific Partnership is a disastrous trade agreement designed to protect the interests of the largest multi-national corporations at the expense of workers, consumers, the environment and the foundations of American democracy. It will also negatively impact some of the poorest people in the world.

The TPP is a treaty that has been written behind closed doors by the corporate world. Incredibly, while Wall Street, the pharmaceutical industry and major media companies have full knowledge as to what is in this treaty, the American people and members of Congress do not. They have been locked out of the process.

Flashback 2014: What’s up with state’s air, land and water?

Written by Anne Sayers,
Special to WiG
Friday, 12 December 2014 14:06

Anne Sayers. — PHOTO: Courtesy

If you breathe air or drink water, listen up. The Legislature has the ability to impact your air, land and water — and all indications are that the session beginning Jan. 5 will not be a positive one for our natural resources. A review of the last session combined with the recent election results shed a little light on what we’re up against. 

Beginning the journey to racial healing

Written by Sharon E. Davis,
Special to WiG
Friday, 12 December 2014 07:13

Sharon E. Davis. — PHOTO: Courtesy

We as human beings had the ability to dig ourselves into this ditch of racism and we can dig ourselves out. Here are seven things I know for sure about racism: