Opinion

Americans With Disabilities Act celebrates 25 years of breaking down barriers

Written by Ginny Grimsley,
News
and Experts
Friday, 24 July 2015 07:58

Former Miss Deaf America Randi Harris

The day the Americans With Disabilities Act passed in 1990, U.S. Sen. Tom Harkin delivered a speech from the Senate floor in a way most of his colleagues didn’t understand.

Church still evades payments to abuse victims

Written by Peter Isley,
Special to WiG
Thursday, 16 July 2015 23:04

Making good on their verbal threat in open court to “spend down” the remaining money left in their estate to prevent 575 victims of rape, sexual assault and abuse by clergy of the Archdiocese of Milwaukee from receiving restitution, lawyers for Milwaukee Archbishop Jerome Listecki have filed an appeal to the U.S. Supreme Court. They seek to overturn a U.S. 7th Circuit decisive ruling that a fraudulent “cemetery trust” created by former Archbishop Timothy Dolan, now cardinal of New York, was not “protected” by federal religious laws or the First Amendment and can be used to compensate survivors.  

General Mills joins pledge to stop using eggs from caged hens

Written by Wayne Pacelle
CEO of the Humane Society of the United States
Wednesday, 08 July 2015 08:17

Wayne Pacelle -PHOTO: Courtesy Humane Society of the United States

Within the last six months or so, we've worked with many of the biggest names in the food business to announce their commitment to stop selling eggs from caged hens. Aramark, Compass Group, Dunkin Brands, Hilton, Kellogg, Nestle, Sodexo, Starbucks, and Walmart have all made public pledges to shift their egg-purchasing practices away from battery cage confinement systems. Today, we're pleased to announce that General Mills, one of the nation's largest food makers, is joining the list.

NAACP Legal Defense fund responds to Haley's call to remove Confederate flag

Written by NAACP Legal Defense
and Educational Fund
Tuesday, 23 June 2015 14:07

NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund issued the following statment after South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley called for the removal of the Confederate flag at the state Capitol:

South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley’s call to remove the Confederate flag from the state Capitol is a welcomed and long overdue act of responsive leadership that is much needed in the Palmetto State.The NAACP Legal Defense & Educational Fund, Inc.  has long voiced its opposition to the flag’s use on state property as it represents a symbol of white supremacy, hate, and terror.

Justices who dismissed John Doe investigation received over $8 million from the groups being probed

Written by Matt Rothschild,
Wisconsin Democracy Campaign
Thursday, 16 July 2015 17:29
money_in_politics

The four justices on the Wisconsin Supreme Court who just dismissed the John Doe investigation concerning alleged coordination between Scott Walker and so-called outside groups were aided enormously by some of the very groups that were party to the John Doe case.

What stinks most in the Wisconsin budget and Walker's politics …

Written by Jamakaya,
Columnist
Friday, 17 July 2015 12:55

It’s hard to pick out one thing from the Wisconsin Legislature’s budget session that stinks the most.

Hope amid hatred this July Fourth

Written by Jamakaya,
Columnist
Saturday, 04 July 2015 04:43

Our national holiday this year is marked by hatred and hope.

Black Lives Matter coalition: cancerous racism allowed to flourish

Written by Black Lives Matter coalition Monday, 22 June 2015 13:46

Charleston’s Emanuel AME church, which is steeped in the incredible history of resistance to slavery, will now be known as the site of an unspeakable and tragic act.

Our hearts go out to the families of those killed. We also keep in our thoughts a congregation that lost its pastor and a community mourning the loss of its neighbors.

Gwen Moore to Scott Walker: Testing food stamp recipients for drugs is unconstitutional

Written by U.S. Rep. Gwen Moore Thursday, 16 July 2015 14:48

U.S. Rep. Gwen Moore

I am writing to express my strong opposition to the ill-advised and illegal proposal enacted in the recently adopted Wisconsin State budget to add a drug test as a requirement for participating in Food Share for some recipients.

walker

Gov. Scott Walker’s sons Alex Walker and Scott Walker will appear on CNN's State of the Union tomorrow, likely to discuss their support for same-sex marriage. Even since the governor suffered a backlash after condemning the Supreme Court’s ruling granting marriage rights to same-sex couples, his sons have been contacting the media to emphasize their support for equality.

Hail a hero: Thanks Frank Kameny

Written by Carl Fillichio Friday, 03 July 2015 04:41

Where would I be without the work I love? There is nothing more rewarding to me than working on behalf of American workers. Serving Labor Secretary Thomas Perez is an honor and a joy and I’m proud of what I’ve accomplished as a public servant during my “tour of duties” as an appointee in the Clinton and Obama administrations. The work is exhilarating, interesting every day and has become a central part of who I am.

Open letter to the Sup’t of Milwaukee Schools

Written by Madeline Dietrich Friday, 19 June 2015 07:09

I wish to call to your attention to an oversight, a failure to act by Milwaukee Public School administrators, which undoubtedly contributed to the suicide of one of Milwaukee Public Schools’ best and brightest teachers this past school year. While the blame for her death cannot be fully placed on the Milwaukee Public School District, it is my opinion that if key personnel had responded appropriately, this teacher might be alive.