Cream City Foundation awards LGBTQ+ scholarships

Cream City Foundation announced its inaugural class of LGBTQ+ Scholarship recipients. The foundation awarded the students $43,500 in total for 2016.

Partnering with founding sponsors BMO Harris Bank and Husch Blackwell, Cream City Foundation launched the LGBTQ+ Scholarship Program in 2015. Cream City says developing future leaders and providing LGBTQ+ people with access to post-secondary education are critical pathways to prosperity and economic security for the LGBTQ+ communities of southeastern Wisconsin.

Cream City Foundation has raised more than $71,000 from its founding sponsors and donors. Additional financial support has been garnered from the Milwaukee Gay Sports Network, Richard Quadracci and the Windhover Foundation and the Ramón and Marstellar Equality Fund.

$2,500 Winners

Gregory Bates, Cardinal Stritch University

Anthony Correro II, Marquette University

Jeb Ebben, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Grace Keller, Milwaukee Area Technical College

Bridget Kies, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Alex Vandergriff, Milwaukee School of Engineering

Dou Vang, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Sara Villareal, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Jonathan Weimer, Alverno College

$1,000 Winners

Matthew Cornale, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Jess Draws, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Paige Flanagan, Mount Mary University

Xan Hammel, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh

Kelly Harmon-Hutchens, Milwaukee Area Technical College

Manuel Hurtado Jr., Marquette University

Lainey Koch, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Vicky Landherr, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater

Amber Lara, Marquette University

Liz/Elliot LeFlore, Wisconsin Lutheran College

Lucas Mirabito, Marquette University

Harrison Mitchell, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point

Natalie Moser, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh

Cheyenne Nussberger, Milwaukee Institute of Art and Design

Josef Patusch, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Isaac Robertson, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Shannon Romero, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Romesh Jayasundara, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Hillary Schneider, Mount Mary University

Monique Schneider, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Melody Schrock, Mount Mary University


Cream City’s LGBTQ+ Scholarship program committee established the scholarship criteria, created scholarship materials and selected the inaugural class of scholarship recipients. Committee members are:

Erika Baurecht, Husch Blackwell

Deirdra Copeland-Gonsalves, BMO Harris Bank

Angela Harden, Husch Blackwell

Pat Galgan, Robert W. Baird

Michelle Gran, Marquette University

Wes Shaver, business owner and President-Elect, Milwaukee Pride


For more information, visit