Gay and lesbian sports hall of fame announces 1st inductees


The National Gay and Lesbian Sports Hall of Fame will induct its first members in early August. Nominations are still taking place but founders have announced the first – and probably most famous – inductees.

The Chicago-based hall of fame is inducting Glenn Burke, Christina Kahrl, Renee Richards, Martina Navratilova, Greg Louganis, Billie Jean King, Jason Collins, LZ Granderson, Dr. Tom Waddell, Orlando Cruz, Andrew Goldstein, Ben Cohen, Jerry Pritikin, the Chicago Cubs,, the International Gay Rodeo Association and Anheuser-Busch.

Founder and executive director Bill Gubrud said the hall, the fame is the first institution of its kind in the United States, was established “to honor individuals and organizations whose achievements and efforts have enhanced the fields of sports and athletics for the gay and lesbian community.”

He added that the nonprofit will “recognize those who have stood up to stereotypes and worked to break down the walls of differences to bring people together for the good of the games.”

Nominations for inductions will continue until July 1 at

The first induction ceremony will take place on Aug. 2 at the Center on Halsted. That’s the day before Out at Wrigley, the nation’s largest gay day at a major league sporting event.