Sign in / Join
Web_-_bastille_days

Here comes the sun | Summer's festival lineup

The skies are bluer. The grass is greener. And the mercury is rising. It’s festival season, and Wisconsin takes pride in providing an outdoor offering for just about every day of summer. A look at the lineup and some highlights in bold:

In Milwaukee

• Chill on the Hill, June 4–Aug. 27 (Tuesdays), www.bayviewneighborhood.org.

• Jazz in the Park, June 6–Sept. 5 (Thursdays), www.easttown.com.

• PrideFest, June 7–9. www.pridefest.com.

• River Rhythms, June 12–Aug. 18 (Wednesdays), www.westown.org.

• Milwaukee IndyFest, June 14–15. www.milwaukeeindyfest.com.

• Polish Fest, June 14–16. www.polishfest.org.

• Greek Fest, June 21–23. www.annunciationwi.org.

• Malibu Open Festival, June 21–22, www.malibuopenfestival.com.

• Lakefront Festival of the Arts, June 21–23, lfoa.mam.org.

Summerfest, June 26–30; July 2–7. The world’s largest music festival – 11 days, 11 stages, 1,000 performances, 900,000 people and the best wine coolers anywhere. www.summerfest.com.

• Bastille Days, July 11–14, www.easttown.com.

• Festa Italiana, July 19–21. www.festaitaliana.com.

• Milwaukee Firkin Craft Beer Festival, July 20, milwaukeefirkin.com.

• German Fest, July 25–28. www.germanfest.com.

• Brady Street Festival, July 27, bradystreet.org.

• African World Festival, Aug. 3–4. www.awfmke.com.

• Milwaukee Air & Water Show, Aug. 3–4. www.milwaukeeairshow.com.

• Irish Fest, Aug. 15–18. www.irishfest.com.

• Mexican Fiesta, Aug. 23–25. www.mexicanfiesta.org.

Harley–Davidson 110th Anniversary, Aug. 29–Sept. 1. Rumble, rumble – a custom bike show, motorcycle display, concerts and the world’s largest bike night. www.harleydavidson.com.

• Indian Summer Festival, Sept. 6–8. www.indiansummer.org.

Around the state

Outta Sight Kite Flight, Kenosha, June 1–2. A grand launch of 500 kites. Kite-flying, kite-making, kite-selling, kite-watching. kenoshaevents.com.

• Butterfest, Sparta, June 6–9.
www.spartabutterfest.com.

• Walleye Weekend Festival, Fond du Lac, June 7–9. www.fdlfest.com.

• Prairie Villa Rendezvous, Prairie du Chien, June 13–16. www.prairieduchien.org.

• Monroe Balloon Rally, Monroe, June 14–15. www.monroeballoonrally.com.

Beer, Bacon and Cheese, New Glarus, June 15. Craft beers, artisan cheeses, cured meats. And the promise of a bacon-maple ice cream sundae. www.swisstown.com.

• Great River Road Festival, Cassville, June 15. www.stonefield.wisconsinhistory.org.

Door County Beer Festival, Baileys Harbor, June 15. Baileys Harbor is transformed into a beer mecca. www.doorcountybeer.com.

• June Dairy Days, Gilman, June 15–16. www.gilmanwi.com/junedairydays.

• Cranberry Blossom Festival, Wisconsin Rapids, June 20–23. www.blossomfest.com.

• Strawberry Festival, Cedarburg, June 22–23. www.cedarburgfestivals.org.

National Women’s Music Festival, Madison, July 4–7. Music, comedy, film workshops, a marketplace and sisters. www.wiaonline.org.

• Art Fair on the Square, Madison, July 13–14. www.mmoca.org. 

• Salmon–A–Rama, Racine, July 13–21. www.salmon-a-rama.com.

• Country Jam USA Festival, Eau Claire, July 18–20. www.countryjam.com.

Rock Fest, Cadott, July 18–20. Time is short to grow out your hair. Kiss, Whitesnake, Warrant, Megadeth. www.rock–fest.com.

• Midsummer Festival of the Arts, Sheboygan, July 20–21. www.jmkac.org.

Lumberjack World Championships, Hayward, July 25–27. Lumberjacks chop, climb, run and roll through more than 21 events at the “Olympics of the Forest.” www.lumberjackworldchampionships.com.

• Baraboo Circus Celebration Day, Baraboo, July 27. www.downtownbaraboo.com.

• EAA AirVenture, Oshkosh, July 29–Aug. 4. www.airventure.org.

• Wisconsin State Fair, West Allis, Aug. 1–11. www.wistatefair.com.

National Mustard Day, Middleton, Aug. 3. Celebrating the “king of condiments.”
www.mustardmuseum.com.

• U.S. Open Chainsaw Sculpture Championships, Eau Claire,
Aug. 8–11. www.uschainsawchamps.com.

• Hamburger Fest and Balloon Rally, Seymour, Aug. 9–11. www.homeofthehamburger.org.

Summer Set Music Festival, Somerset, Aug. 9–11. Camping, tubing and lots of tunes, including by the Wailers. summersetfestival.com/2013/.

• Cranes of the World Festival, Baraboo, Aug. 10. www.savingcranes.org.

Sweet Corn Festival, Sun Prairie, Aug. 15–18. Serving 70 tons of sweet corn, as well as delivering a carnival and parade. www.sunprairiechamber.com.

• Baylake Bank Tall Ship Festival, Green Bay, Aug. 16–18. www.tallshipgreenbay.com.

• Lake Superior Dragon Boat Festival, Superior, Aug. 23–24. www.lakesuperiordragons.com.

• Kenosha Grill Games, Kenosha, Aug. 23–24. www.grillgames.org.

• Artstreet, Green Bay, Aug. 23–25. www.artseventsinc.com.

Wisconsin State Cow Chip Throw, Prairie du Sac, Aug. 30–31. About 800 people will attempt to throw cow patties as far as they can. About 40,000 will watch. www.wiscowchip.com.

• Wilhelm Tell Festival, New Glarus, Aug. 30–Sept. 1. www.swisstown.com.

Dairyland Surf Classic, Sheboygan, Aug. 31–Sept. 1. Freshwater surfing in the Malibu of the Midwest. www.visitsheboygan.com.

• Taste of Madison, Madison, Aug. 31–Sept. 1. www.madisonfestivals.com.

Beyond state lines

• Illinois: Chicago Blues Festival, Chicago, June 6–9, www.cityofchicago.org; Taste of Chicago, Chicago, July 10–14, www.cityofchicago.org; Lollapalooza 2013, Chicago, Aug. 2–4, www.lollapalooza.com.

• Iowa: America’s River Festival, Dubuque, June 14–16, www.americasriverfestival.com; 80/35 Music Fest, Des Moines, July 5–6, 2013.80–35.com.

• Michigan: Coast West Music Fest, Muskegon, July 1–6, www.coastwestfestival.com; Michigan Womyn’s Music Festival, The Land, Aug. 6–11, www.michfest.com.

• Minnesota: Moondance Jam, Walker, July 18–20, www.moondancejam.com.

On tour

Adam Ant, Barenaked Ladies, Beach Boys, Black Sabbath, Bon Jovi, Boyz II Men, Jimmy Buffett, Kenny Chesney, Dave Matthews Band, Celine Dion, Eagles, Melissa Etheridge, Fleetwood Mac, fun, Jay–Z, Elton John, Jonas Brothers, B.B. King, John Mayer, Matchbox 20, Paul McCartney, Tim McGraw, Pearl Jam, Tom Petty, P!nk, Sugar Ray, Diana Ross, Rush, Leon Russell, Bob Seger, Smashing Pumpkins, Stink, They Might Be Giants, Justin Timberlake, Carrie Underwood, Violent Femmes.

App for that

Find details about events and destinations in Wisconsin on Travel Wisconsin’s iPhone and Android apps.


Leave a reply