Jindal, Ayotte, Portman added to Republican’s convention lineup


Republican National Committee Chairman Reince Priebus on Aug. 16 announced six additional speakers for the Republican National Convention, which takes place Aug. 27-30 in Tampa, Fla.

The speakers are:

• U.S. Sen. Kelly Ayotte, United States senator from New Hampshire and former New Hampshire attorney general.

• Former Democratic National Convention speaker Artur Davis, former Alabama congressman from the 7th District who was the first member of Congress not from Illinois to endorse President Barack Obama in 2008. Davis, then a Democrat, seconded the official nomination of Obama at the 2008 Democratic National Convention. He recently announced he is joining the Republican Party and supporting Mitt Romney.

• Louisiana Gov. Bobby Jindal, 55th Governor of Louisiana, winning election in 2007 and winning reelection in all of the state’s 64 parishes in 2011; former U.S. congressman; led the state’s response to the catastrophic oil spill in the Gulf in 2010.

• Congressman Connie Mack, who won the Republican nomination for the U.S. Senate in Florida on Aug. 14 and was first elected to the House of Representatives in November 2004.

• Virginia Gov. Bob McDonnell, chairman of the Republican Governors Association and chairman of the Republican National Convention Committee on Resolutions, commonly known as the Platform Committee.

• U.S. Sen. Rob Portman, U.S. senator from Ohio who won election in 2010 by 18 points, winning 82 of Ohio’s 88 counties, and former congressman from Ohio’s 2nd district. He is also a former U.S. Trade representative and former director of the office of management and budget.

More on the convention: