Opinion

Weighing when to use the scales of justice

Written by Katie Belanger Saturday, 11 January 2014 20:02

For a brief time, marriage equality existed in Utah.

While I couldn’t be happier for my friends at our sister organization Equality Utah, I was as shocked as many of you to learn that Utah achieved full marriage equality before Wisconsin.

Opinion: Winning LGBT equality in the heartland

Written by Rebecca Isaacs,
Special to WiG
Friday, 29 November 2013 09:59

I was born in Wisconsin and have spent time in Nebraska, where my mother’s vast set of relatives gathers every year to celebrate family and place. Although today I call California home, I’m always happy to return to the region of the country where I was born. Just recently, I traveled to Chicago for Equality Federation’s Midwest Leadership Summit, the annual gathering of our Midwest Cohort. 

Marked forever by the 1960s

Written by Jamakaya,
Columnist
Thursday, 14 November 2013 11:52

The Nixon-Kennedy debate. - PHOTO: Wikipedia

The 50th anniversary of President John F. Kennedy’s assassination brings back many memories. It reminds me how growing up in the 1960s was as traumatic as it was exhilarating.

Matthew Shepard’s honorable legacy

Written by Jamakaya Friday, 01 November 2013 13:45

The Internet is buzzing with debate about The Book of Matt: Hidden Truths About the Murder of Matthew Shepard by Stephen Jimenez. 

United front for LGBT health care

Written by KATIE BELANGER,
Columnist
Friday, 13 December 2013 12:02

The Affordable Care Act: What does it mean for LGBT people?

Looking back at 2013, I am proud to say that we have a more unified movement for equality than we had in Wisconsin one year ago.

Moments of Christmas delirium

Written by Jamakaya,
Columnist
Thursday, 28 November 2013 12:54

From

Despite my hard-earned rep as an atheistic radical commie lesbian, I turn into a hopeless ball of schmaltz when the holiday season begins. Every year, I succumb to the sentimentality of Christmas movies. 

Gov. Scott Walker’s new book isn’t exactly a tell-all. In fact, it glosses over or leaves out many of the most important pieces in the story related to his successful drive to destroy public unions and his subsequent recall battle.

Support the community that supports you

Written by Katie Belanger,
Contributing writer
Friday, 18 October 2013 10:15

What do 96 percent of LGBT people have in common?

Holiday jeers and cheers

Written by Jamakaya,
Columnist
Friday, 13 December 2013 11:57

Jeers to Liz Cheney, candidate for U.S. Senate in Wyoming.

Join the jeers for Liz Cheney, who threw her lesbian sister onto the tracks in craven pursuit of a U.S. Senate seat that she will never win. Liz, who denounced same-sex marriages like that of her sister Mary, needs to get a clue about real family values.

Reflecting on transgender losses — and looking forward to a better future

Written by Helen boyd & Willem Van Roosenbeek,
Columnists
Wednesday, 20 November 2013 08:55

International Transgender Day of Remembrance is Nov. 20.

International Transgender Day of Remembrance is a time to reflect on those who have been killed because of transphobia and hate.  For those who are transgender, genderqueer or non-binary — and their significant others, friends, family and allies (SOFFAs) — not remembering isn’t even a possibility. Because we know that when we leave the house, or when our loved ones leave the house, there is some chance that some person out there will decide our loved one’s gender is wrong or bad. We know there are people in the world who think that violence will fix their own fears, law enforcement officers who think our lives aren’t important, and courts that think panic is a legitimate reason for murder.

Why Wisconsin's registry law must be preserved

Written by Katie Belanger,
Contributing writer
Friday, 01 November 2013 13:55

Katie Belanger

It may not be a high profile marriage case, but to those 2,000-plus same-sex couples who’ve registered in Wisconsin, Appling v. Walker is a case that’s poised to have a tremendous impact on their lives.

Disability is also a civil rights issue

Written by Jamakaya Friday, 18 October 2013 10:08

LGBT leaders are fond of declaring marriage equality the “civil rights issue of our time.” 

This is rather arrogant, because it ignores a number of ongoing struggles for freedom that are equally compelling and involve the fates of millions of people. Because October is Disability Awareness Month, I will address that struggle. It is really “our” struggle because any of us — due to injury, illness or quirky chromosomes — can develop a disability at any time.