Opinion

Milwaukee Jewish Federation denounces Paris attacks

Written by Milwaukee Jewish Federation Tuesday, 13 January 2015 07:57

We are outraged and filled with grief after the incidents of terrorism last week in Paris. We join with the people of France and the global Jewish community in loudly and clearly denouncing these attacks by radical Islamic terrorists and offer condolences and prayers for the 17 victims and their families. 

The horrific shooting at the offices of the satirical magazine, Charlie Hebdo, which left 12 people dead, was an attack on our basic democratic freedoms. On Friday, as many Jews prepared for the Sabbath, terrorists entered a kosher grocery store with the stated intent of "targeting Jews" and murdered four people. 

U.S. Rep. Moore seeks Justice review of Milwaukee police procedures

Written by U.S. Rep. Gwen Moore Wednesday, 24 December 2014 06:50

U.S. Rep. Gwen Moore, a Democrat representing Milwaukee, wrote recently to the U.S. Justice Department's civil rights division and asked the U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of Wisconsin to investigate Milwaukee police procedures.

The following is Moore's letter to James Santelle:

To progressives: Make 2015 the year of no regrets

Written by Scot Ross,
Special to WiG
Friday, 12 December 2014 09:24

Scot Ross. — PHOTO: Courtesy

With November’s elections failing to achieve a change in leadership, the year 2014 was disappointing for progressives. 

Flashback 2014: Toasts to lesbian, gay artists and divas of 2014

Written by Jamakaya,
Columnist
Friday, 12 December 2014 13:00

Alison Bechdel. — PHOTO: Courtesy

Congrats are due to two bona fide lesbian geniuses: artist Alison Bechdel and legal eagle Mary L. Bonauto. Both received prestigious MacArthur Foundation genius grants in 2014. 

Trans-Pacific Trade Agreement must be defeated

Written by U.S. Sen. Bernie Sanders Tuesday, 30 December 2014 19:11

The Trans-Pacific Partnership is a disastrous trade agreement designed to protect the interests of the largest multi-national corporations at the expense of workers, consumers, the environment and the foundations of American democracy. It will also negatively impact some of the poorest people in the world.

The TPP is a treaty that has been written behind closed doors by the corporate world. Incredibly, while Wall Street, the pharmaceutical industry and major media companies have full knowledge as to what is in this treaty, the American people and members of Congress do not. They have been locked out of the process.

Flashback 2014: What’s up with state’s air, land and water?

Written by Anne Sayers,
Special to WiG
Friday, 12 December 2014 14:06

Anne Sayers. — PHOTO: Courtesy

If you breathe air or drink water, listen up. The Legislature has the ability to impact your air, land and water — and all indications are that the session beginning Jan. 5 will not be a positive one for our natural resources. A review of the last session combined with the recent election results shed a little light on what we’re up against. 

Beginning the journey to racial healing

Written by Sharon E. Davis,
Special to WiG
Friday, 12 December 2014 07:13

Sharon E. Davis. — PHOTO: Courtesy

We as human beings had the ability to dig ourselves into this ditch of racism and we can dig ourselves out. Here are seven things I know for sure about racism:

NAACP Milwaukee: From Milwaukee to Ferguson to Staten Island

Written by James H. Hall Jr. Tuesday, 09 December 2014 05:51

Obviously and unfortunately, there are many similarities among the matters involving Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri, Eric Garner in New York and the Dontre Hamilton situation here in Milwaukee.

Actually, it is even clearer than in the other two cases that the victim — Dontre Hamilton — was not approached by a police officer based on an alleged reasonable suspicion of criminal activity, as there was no suspicion of crime in Mr. Hamilton’s case, and still the interaction led to the same outcome — his death at the hands of a police officer.

Time is overdue to repeal the Second Amendment

Written by Tom H. Hastings Sunday, 28 December 2014 07:32

What country fetishizes, lionizes, valorizes, idolizes, and sacralizes guns as much as does our United States? OK, possibly Mozambique — the only country with an AK47 on its flag, but really, it's long past time to end this obsessive "My Precious" attachment of Americans to instruments of death.

Flashback 2014: State’s GOP assails women’s health

Written by Tanya Atkinson,
Special to WiG
Friday, 12 December 2014 14:01

In Wisconsin, we have a long history of working together to ensure our friends, family and neighbors have access to essential health care, and we believe in a government that trusts people to make personal health decisions. But our elected leaders have embarked on a divergent path.

O’Donnell Park sale leaves public out in the cold

Written by Pat Small,
Special to WiG
Friday, 12 December 2014 15:04

Public parks are rarely sold to for-profit corporations. But Milwaukee County may soon sell the postcard-perfect Lakefront promontory O’Donnell Park to Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Co. On Dec. 18, county supervisors will vote to approve or reject the proposed sale.

The cost of doing business with Boss Vos

Written by Saul Newton,
Special to WiG
Wednesday, 26 November 2014 08:09

Robin Vos. — PHOTO: Courtesy

Formalizing a decision already hinted at in 2013, the National Basketball Association included as a condition of  the Milwaukee Bucks’ sale that a new arena be constructed to house the team. If a new arena was not constructed, the league could buy back the team, potentially resulting in Milwaukee losing the Bucks as our professional basketball franchise.