LGBT Democrats announce more endorsements

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousStumbleuponBuzz Up!Google BookmarksRSS Feed
(1 vote, average 5.00 out of 5)

Elizabeth Warren supporters rally in Massachusetts. - PHOTO: Flickr/ElizabethForMA

The National Stonewall Democrats PAC has announced a second round of endorsements for the Nov. 6 general election.

NSD PAC, in a news release, said it “selects for endorsement the campaigns that are most important to advancing a pro-equality agenda on the federal level.”

The candidates’ positions and votes on LGBT issues are scrutinized, but “NSD PAC also screens candidates on issues of importance to equality-minded Democrats. This year’s questionnaire includes questions on reproductive rights, labor, health care, and affirmative action.”

Jerame Davis, NSD PAC executive director, said, “We are proud to have so many highly qualified and deeply pro-equality candidates to endorse in this second round of endorsements. There is nothing more critical to the advancement of LGBT equality than to elect a pro-equality majority in Congress and we will work hard to ensure each and every one of these candidates is successful on Nov. 6.”

The PAC expects to make another round of endorsements later this month.

The round two endorsements went to:

US Senate

Maria Cantwell – Washington

Amy Klobuchar – Minnesota

Bob Menendez – New Jersey

Elizabeth Warren – Massachusetts

US House of Representatives

Karen Bass – California-37

Bruce Braley – Iowa-1

Judy Chu – California-27

James Clyburn – South Carolina-6

John Conyers – Michigan-14

Elijah Cummings – Maryland-7

Susan Davis – California-53

Jessica Ehrlick – Florida-13

Alan Grayson – Florida-9

Raul Grijalava – Arizona-7

Janice Hahn – California-44

Alcee Hastings – Florida-20

Mike Honda – California-17

Steny Hoyer – Maryland-5

Barbara Lee – California-13

Dave Loebsack – Iowa-1

Ed Markey – Massachusetts-7

Doris Matsui – California-6

Patrick Murphy – Florida-18

John Oceguera – Nevada-3

Frank Pallone – New Jersey-6

Cedric Richmond – Louisiana-2

Linda Sanchez – California-38

Loretta Sanchez – California-46

Kyrsten Sinema – Arizona-9

Jackie Speier – California-14

John Tierney – Massachusetts-6

Niki Tsongas – Massachusetts-3

Chris Van Hollen – Maryland-6

Henry Waxman – California-33

Maxine Waters – California-43

Previously, the PAC endorsed Tammy Baldwin of Wisconsin,
Sherrod Brown of Ohio,
Shelley Berkley of Nevada,
 Dianne Feinstein of California,
Kirsten Gillibrand of New York and
Bernie Sanders of Vermont for the U.S. Senate.

The PAC also previously endorsed Ami Bera, Nancy Pelosi and Mark Takano of California; Tim Bishop and Jerrold Nadler of New York; André Carson of Indiana; David Cicilline of Rhode Island; Steve Cohen of Tennessee; Keith Ellison of Minnesota; Rush Holt of New Jersey; Sheila Jackson-Lee of Texas; John Lewis of Georgia; Michelle Lujan-Grisham of New Mexico; Mark Pocan of Wisconsin; Jared Polis of Colorado; Jan Schakowsky of Illinois; Debbie Wasserman Schultz of Florida; and Dina Titus of Nevada.

Log Cabin Republicans, the national LGBT GOP group, also has announced endorsements for Congress.