House Democrats oppose anti-gay DOMA in court brief

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousStumbleuponBuzz Up!Google BookmarksRSS Feed
(0 votes, average 0 out of 5)

House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi

House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi has led a coalition of at least 130 congressional members in filing a friend-of-the-court brief opposing the anti-gay Defense of Marriage Act.

The filing is in Golinski v. Office of Personnel Management, a case before the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals that the Justice Department wants fast-tracked to the U.S. Supreme Court.

Oral arguments currently are set for Sept. 10 and likely will take place because the Supreme Court is on summer break and won’t rule on the Justice Department request before the fall.

The department has declined to defend DOMA, the 1996 law prohibiting the federal government from recognizing gay marriages. So the Republican leadership in the House of Representatives has intervened and hired attorneys to defend the law.

House Democrats, meanwhile, have signed on to the amicus brief opposing DOMA.

The brief, according to a statement from Pelosi’s office, “makes it clear that the House is not united on DOMA’s validity, that the BLAG (Bipartisan Legal Advisory Group) lawyers do not speak for the entire institution and that there is no legitimate federal interest in denying married same-sex couples the legal security, rights and responsibilities that federal law provides to couples who are married under state law.”

The signers include:

Nancy Pelosi

Steny Hoyer

James E. Clyburn

Jerrold Nadler

John Conyers Jr.

Barney Frank

Tammy Baldwin

Jared Polis

David N. Cicilline

Gary L. Ackerman

Robert E. Andrews

Karen Bass

Xavier Becerra

Shelley Berkley

Howard L. Berman

Timothy H. Bishop

Earl Blumenauer

Suzanne Bonamici

Robert A. Brady

Bruce L. Braley

Lois Capps

Michael E. Capuano

André Carson

Judy Chu

Hansen Clarke

Yvette D. Clarke

Wm. Lacy Clay

Emanuel Cleaver

Steve Cohen

Gerald E. Connolly

Joe Courtney

Joseph Crowley

Danny K. Davis

Susan A. Davis

Diana DeGette

Rosa L. DeLauro

Theodore E. Deutch

Lloyd Doggett

Michael F. Doyle

Donna F. Edwards

Keith Ellison

Eliot L. Engel

Anna G. Eshoo

Sam Farr

Chaka Fattah

Bob Filner

Marcia L. Fudge

John Garamendi

Charles A. Gonzalez

Raúl M. Grijalva

Luis V. Gutierrez

Janice Hahn

Colleen W. Hanabusa

Alcee L. Hastings

Martin Heinrich

Brian Higgins

James A. Himes

Maurice D. Hinchey

Mazie K. Hirono

Kathy Hochul

Rush D. Holt

Michael M. Honda

Steve Israel

Jesse L. Jackson Jr.

Sheila Jackson Lee

Eddie Bernice Johnson

Henry C. “Hank” Johnson Jr.

William R. Keating

Dennis J. Kucinich

John B. Larson

Barbara Lee

Sander M. Levin

John Lewis

Zoe Lofgren

Nita M. Lowey

Carolyn B. Maloney

Edward J. Markey

Doris O. Matsui

Carolyn McCarthy

Betty McCollum

Jim McDermott

James P. McGovern

Jerry McNerney

Gregory W. Meeks

Brad Miller

George Miller

Gwen Moore

James P. Moran

Christopher S. Murphy

Grace F. Napolitano

Richard E. Neal

Eleanor Holmes Norton

John W. Olver

William L. Owens

Frank Pallone Jr.

Ed Pastor

Gary C. Peters

Chellie Pingree

David E. Price

Mike Quigley

Charles B. Rangel

Laura Richardson

Steven R. Rothman

Lucille Roybal-Allard

Bobby L. Rush

Tim Ryan

Linda T. Sánchez

Loretta Sanchez

John P. Sarbanes

Janice D. Schakowsky

Adam B. Schiff

Robert C. “Bobby” Scott

José E. Serrano

Brad Sherman

Louise McIntosh Slaughter

Adam Smith

Jackie Speier

Fortney Pete Stark

Mike Thompson

John F. Tierney

Paul Tonko

Edolphus Towns

Niki Tsongas

Chris Van Hollen

Nydia M. Velázquez

Timothy J. Walz

Debbie Wasserman Schultz

Maxine Waters

Henry A. Waxman

Peter Welch

Lynn C. Woolsey

John A. Yarmuth

Download a PDF of the current issue of Wisconsin Gazette and join our Facebook community.