GLAAD launches commentator accountability project

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousStumbleuponBuzz Up!Google BookmarksRSS Feed
(0 votes, average 0 out of 5)

The Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation on March 14 launched the Commentator Accountability Project to track anti-LGBT rhetoric in broadcasts.

The project, according to a news release, focuses on more than 30 people who appear on news shows as “experts” but, according to GLAAD, are anti-gay extremists.

“Hate is not an expert opinion,” said GLAAD spokesperson Herndon Graddick. “In most cases, news outlets invite reputable experts to speak on the subject at hand, but when talking about LGBT issues, open hostility and anti-LGBT bias seems to be all the credibility required. This project holds these so-called ‘pundits’ accountable for the extreme anti-LGBT rhetoric they continue to spread.”

GLAAD, with the launch of the project, posted a collection of prior remarks by anti-LGBT commentators on local and national news programs, as well as instructions for monitoring broadcasts.

“These activists have the right to recite their anti-LGBT talking points, but it is important to expose the questionable and often hostile rhetoric that passes as punditry when so-called ‘experts’ speak out against the lives of LGBT people on the air or in print,” Graddick said. “If networks are going to continue to invite those with incendiary anti-LGBT views on their programs, show runners should know the full picture of who these individuals really are so that critical context can be relayed to the audience.”

GLAAD’s focus list includes:

• Alan Chambers

Albert Mohler

Bill Donohue

• Bob Emrich

• Bob Vander Plaats

Brian Brown

• Brian Camenker

• Bryan Fischer

• Candi Cushman

Christopher Plante

Chuck Colson

David Barton

Don Wildmon

Frank Turek

Gary Bauer

Glenn Stanton

Harry Jackson

Jennifer Roback Morse

Jim Daly

Jim Garlow

Joseph Farah

Ken Hutcherson

Kevin McCullough

Lou Engle

Maggie Gallagher

Mat Staver

Matt Barber

Michael Brown

Penny Nance

Peter LaBarbera

Peter Sprigg

Rick Scarborough

Robert George

Scott Lively

Tim Wildmon

Tony Perkins

Download a PDF of the current issue of Wisconsin Gazette and join our Facebook community.